An upset and tearful Vera Zvonareva tried to be gracious in defeat this morning, but said that she “did not show her best” in the ladies singles final at The All England Club.

“As a perfectionist I wouldn’t consider it a fabulous result,” she said afterwards. “I’m still disappointed because I think I could have played better tennis. Even though I lost, I felt I could have done better.”

“It wouldn’t have changed the result but I could have played better. I did not show my best and that’s disappointing considering it’s the final, and you don’t reach the Wimbledon final every day. But overall Serena played very well. She didn’t give me chances to get into the match.”

One specific area where Zvonareva felt she could have done better was in being more aggressive on the Williams second serve. She also felt she could, and should, have taken the match to a third set. “But I made some bad tactical choices and that’s why she was able to break me.”

Even when she made what she felt were the right choices, the Russian admitted she still came off second best against such inspired opposition. “I would make the right choice and she would make a really good get and a passing shot. So the next time you feel like you have to go for even more, and then you start missing.”

Even so, she felt Serena was beatable. “She’s a human being, not a machine. It’s very difficult to beat her, you have to play your best. But if you do that, you can [beat her].”

http://www.wimbledon.org/en_GB/news/articles/2010-07-03/201007031278174530110.html

But Zvonareva tried to clear her head quickly as her and her partner Elena Vesnina, who upset the Williams sisters in doubles in the quarter-finals, took the court for the ladies doubles championship.  Unfortunately for Vera and Elena, they lost in the doubles final 7-6 (6), 6-2 to American Vania King and Yaroslava Shvedova, a few hours after Zvonareva lost the singles final to Serena Williams.

Our heart goes out to Zvonareva, who we thought was in line for her 2nd major doubles championship, if not her first major singles championship today.  She’s old school, and she has earned our respect, despite the two tough defeats on championship Saturday.

–Crack (https://crackbillionair.wordpress.com)